Buying a home

Never give up the dream. Never.

8.16.12 When I was a young girl Colorado was a popular vacation destination for my family. While I grew up in the suburbs there was something about the wide open spaces of the Rocky Mountains that spoke to me … “come play in the forest, camp by the river, and day dream in the open fields.” Sometimes I felt as if I was a country girl trapped in the big city hustle and bustle. At some point during my pig-tail years I made a pinky swear (i.e. a promise) to myself that I’d own a farm someday that would bring me the same peace I found in those mountains. Time went on and that pig-tail girl turned into a woman with the responsibilities of motherhood and employment but that pinky swear was always in the back of my mind just itching to burst out. While there were challenges that made me think my dream would never happen I forged ahead, staying positive, saving money, and believing I could make it happen. Six months ago my dream became a reality when I bought what I now call Pinky Swear Farm.

Owning a home is an awesome dream for many, including myself. A home is your nest; a refuge from the world, a place where you’ll create lifetime memories, possibly grow a family, build friendships, and enrich your life in more ways than you can imagine. Your home could be a small condo, a trendy row home or a large mansion. No matter what … it’s yours. Yours. How cool is that?!?!

Dream big; dream small. Just dream. Sure there will be struggles, hurdles, set-backs and challenges, but it will make it that much sweeter when you can sit back on your couch with your feet up and say, “Yep, I did it. It’s mine. I’m home.”

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

