Advice

The importance of having a guy.

I got a guy. In fact I have a few guys, and I hold each one near and dear to my heart. My guys are general contractors, plumbers and electricians who make my life and those of my clients easier. Not every guy (or gal) makes my “go-to” list. They have to earn it by being trustworthy, prompt, reachable, and by delivering unmatched service. In return they are well-paid and paid on-time, treated with the utmost respect, and referred new business.

Having a reliable go-to contractor should be at the top of every homeowner’s contact list because you never know when something will stop working. And when they stop working it’s usually at the most inconvenient times. Last month my dishwasher started leaking water before I had to quickly leave and drive carpool. I made one call, which did not go to voicemail, and my guy/gal team was at my house about two hours later. This morning I had an issue with a roof. Again, one call was made and now my guy will be addressing the problem shortly. When my clients selling a home have a long list of home inspection items to complete my guys are always ready to get to work.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that most of my guys work for themselves. I’m sure there are exceptions to the rule, but it’s been my experience that when people work for themselves or rely on the word of mouth to stay in business they seem to go the extra mile.

For those people who don’t have a guy, Angie’s List is a referral network that seems to work well. I haven’t used the service but have heard good things about it. However if you’re one of my clients and you need a guy give me a call. I’m happy to share.

Leave a Reply

